The road to Bwindi

This seems ridiculous, but I’ve come all the way out to the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and I am not going gorilla trekking. Why not? Because it is more than I wanted to pay right now, and (more importantly) I am not in any kind of shape to go into an impenetrable forest.

Also, I am a horrible judge of distance and didn’t realize it would take all day to get out here.

There are other things to do here besides look at gorillas, so today I will do some of that. Honestly, though I’d be content enough to just sit and look at these mountains with a glass of wine.

I took these pictures on the road, so they’re a bit fuzzy, but by the time I got to my hotel it was dark and I was too tired to explore. I will say, though, I’ve been all over the world, and this corner of Uganda might be the most beautiful landscape I’ve ever seen. Certainly, it’s on the short list.

Passed these guys on the side of the road, just hanging out. There was a village nearby; I wonder if you ever get bored of elephants grazing near your house.

The vastness of an African plain.
Terraced cone-shaped hills. The road is scary as he’ll, with sharp drop-off that threaten instant death, but the view is worth it.


The tall mountain is shared by Uganda, Rwanda, and Congo. I find that tidbit inexplicably thrilling.
Same view in the early morning.
Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. I’m told the name is totally deserved. You have to cross those ridges on foot to even begin gorilla trekking. I’ll do it someday, just not today.
Leave a Reply

