I went to Lake Mburo about a month ago. I’ve shared most of the best pictures somewhere by now—either here or Instagram (or on my own screensaver, which I realize that nobody but me can see but which is somehow satisfying anyway). Here are the last of the ones I wanted to put out, though.

I’m actually heading out on another road trip this weekend, on a loop of southwest Uganda (no gorilla trekking, though—I’ll save that for another trip). But in the meantime, a last look back on my lazy weekend at Lake Mburo National Park.

IMG_1934
The view from the top of Rwakobo Rock is stunning, and the drop-off not as scary as it looks.
IMG_1946
Uganda has a ridiculous number of birds. I forgot the actual statistic, but it’s something like half of all the bird species in Africa. I’m trying to get to know them all. I want to say this one is an African Pied Wagtail, but I could be wrong.
IMG_1949
This, I am pretty sure, is a starling. Starlings tend to have cool names: there is a Splendid Starling and a Superb Starling, but this one is (again, I think) a Rüppell’s Long-Tailed Starling. Bonus point for the umlaut.
IMG_1996
This is not a bird at all.
IMG_2019
A rather majestic cow.
IMG_2010
Mornings were misty when I was there.
IMG_2018
The road is long but inviting.
IMG_2033
It does sometimes feel like walking through a dream. It becomes easy to confuse zebras with unicorns.
IMG_2078
These teenagers just stood in the road, looking all annoyed at us for trying to get through.
IMG_2079
The only reason why they aren’t texting and taking selfies is that they don’t have thumbs.
Leave a Reply

