At the far western end of Massachusetts—so far west that it’s basically upstate New York, and thus brushes up against my policy of never going above 96th Street if I can help it—lie the Berkshires, a place I’ve heard of but (obviously) have never visited.

My ostensible goal is to visit the Masschusetts Museum of Contemporary Art, or Mass MOCA as it is called by those-in-the-know, but there is a lot to do in the area so I decided to take some of that in, too. First stop was the Hancock Shaker Village, home (former home?) to a religious community best known for its utopian beliefs and fantastic minimalist style, probably not in that order.

At this point a proper writer would give you a meaningful history of the Shakers and their legacy in this part of the United States, but unfortunately it was about to rain and I wanted to make sure I saw everything before it was too late so I skipped the tour and didn’t read any of the signs. I did take a bunch of pictures, though, my favorites of which I am happy to share here.

img_1645
I spent a ridiculous amount of time taking this picture. I tried all my filters, all my various settings, etc. In the end, this was my favorite. I liked the light and all the jars. I think I was in the pantry.
img_1672
Chicken glamor shot. I spent a lot of time with the chickens.
img_1648
A workshop.
img_1659
I could never live on a farm, but they are pretty.
img_1647
I overheard a tour guide saying that these are exceptional examples of the Shaker style.
img_1674
Practicing, in case I’m ever hired to make a calendar.
img_1671
This naked turkey looks obscene.
img_1644
You would never know it from looking at my house, but I love this elegant simplicity.
img_1651
In case I’m ever hired to shoot an album cover for a not-very-good indie band.
img_1667
I like how the wheels lined up, and all the carts seem to be bowing down.
img_1669
More chicken glamor, plus bonus duck.
img_1666
I don’t think that any of the equipment I use at work will age this gracefully.
img_1646
The rope is connected to a bell. I wasn’t sure if I was allowed to ring it, and didn’t want to get in trouble so I didn’t, but I regret that now.
img_1665
This is the entrance to their large round barn.
img_1663
Another view.
img_1668
The world is a lovely place.
img_1660
More of this. I was kind of stuck here for a bit while a large group of tourists passed through.
img_1676
The village entrance. I know it was a religious group so they probably didn’t partake, but this would be a great spot for a sundowner.
Leave a Reply

